Skip to main content

Fabasoft Cloud is the first web application to receive the “WACA” Web Accessibility Certificate Austria

Released on 22. November 2019

Accessibility is the cornerstone of user-friendliness

Fabasoft was the first provider in Europe to receive the WACA certificate (Web Accessibility Certificate Austria) for a web application. The Fabasoft Cloud has been awarded the silver certificate by the independent certification body of the Austrian Computer Society (OCG).


“Our aim is to motivate companies to recognise accessibility as a fundamental component of their service offering. This is an essential aspect of user-friendliness for all people. For people with temporary or permanent disabilities, barrier-free availability is what makes access to information and unrestricted civic engagement possible in the first place. We sincerely congratulate Fabasoft on being awarded the first WACA certificate for a web application. This demonstrates that even software applications can be designed barrier-free,” explains Werner Rosenberger, Project Manager WACA, OCG.


The certification attests that Fabasoft Cloud fulfills the guidelines for barrier-free web content (WCAG 2.0-AA) to a high degree, that no users are excluded, and that anyone with the necessary input/output devices such as keyboards, voice input, screen readers, and so on can operate this web app. The objective of WCAG is to provide a common standard for barrier-free web content accessibility that meets the needs of individuals, organisations, and governments at the international level. This objective incorporates the criteria associated with the four principles, “perceptible, operable, comprehensible and robust”, which form the basis of web accessibility.


“WACA certification is in itself very difficult for a website to achieve, which makes it all the more challenging for a comprehensive product or web application to meet the criteria. Fabasoft has embraced the goal of designing its products to be barrier-free. I define the accessibility of the new functionalities right away as part of the design process. In addition, I continuously test the Fabasoft products with regard to their accessibility so that we can continue to meet the stringent quality requirements in the future. This certificate validates our efforts and demonstrates that not only websites but also web applications can be designed barrier-free,” explains Mario Batusic, Accessibility Engineer at Fabasoft, who is himself visually impaired.


Fabasoft Cloud

In the Fabasoft Cloud, companies exchange barrier-free digital content across organisations, IT infrastructures, and countries. Functionalities such as automatic synchronisation, versioning, auditing, digital signatures for documents, and automated workflows facilitate collaboration and ensure transparency. Fabasoft already provides turnkey solutions for selected use cases that can be implemented in the Fabasoft Cloud.


About the Austrian Computer Society

The Austrian Computer Society (OCG) is a non-profit association for the promotion of information technology and ICT (Information and Communication Technologies). The OCG has been active as a national information society for over 40 years and boasts some 1,400 members. The association is among the leading ICT platforms in Austria and currently operates roughly 30 working groups addressing various ICT issues, including the working group “Accessibility through ICT” and awards the WACA certificate in its capacity as an independent certification body.